An array of 21 categories has been meticulously curated by an Advisory Board of experts to encompass the spectrum of sustainable travel and tourism, aligning with the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) and the net positive framework focusing on People, Planet, Place, Prosperity, and Partnerships.

Entries, governed by straightforward criteria, must be submitted by May 24th.

The evaluation of award submissions will be undertaken by students specializing in sustainable business at the Nova School of Business and Economics in Lisbon, with final shortlist approval granted by the WSTHA Advisory Board.

Global voting, accessible to professionals within the travel and tourism industry, will commence from June 14th to August 2nd.

Distinguished leaders in sustainable travel will be invited to attend the inaugural WSTHA Gala Ceremony in Belize, the Official Host Destination, on September 27th, where the winners will be unveiled.

Key Dates:

  • Awards open for entry: March 18th

  • Entry deadline: May 24th

  • Nominations revealed & global voting begins: June 14th

  • Voting closes: August 2nd

  • Gala Ceremony, Belize: September 27th

Justin Cooke, Executive Vice-President, WSTHA says: “On behalf of WSTHA, I am delighted to open submissions for our inaugural programme. We welcome entries from across the sustainable travel and hospitality sector, with our goal to recognise and tell the stories of those accelerating change and making a sustainable impact on our planet for the next generation.”

As the designated Host Destination for WSTHA 2024, Belize prioritizes responsible tourism, fostering initiatives that inspire travelers to interact with its rainforests, reefs, and distinct culture in a sustainable fashion.

Anthony Mahler, Minister of Tourism, Belize, says: “We are excited for the next stage in The World Sustainable Travel & Hospitality Awards, with all 21 categories open for submissions as of today. We encourage individuals, organisations and responsible travel advocates to share their stories and initiatives, highlighting how they are leading the way and making encouraging strides to a better future.”

The WSTHA initiative operates in collaboration with the Sustainable Hospitality Alliance, whose donor members and affiliates collectively encompass more than 50,000 hotels, 7 million rooms worldwide, 270 brands, and over 40 strategic partners in the supply chain.

Glenn Mandziuk, CEO, Sustainable Hospitality Alliance and Vice-Chair, WSTHA Advisory Board, says: “In our quest for a Net Positive future, every organisation making strides in sustainable practices is a beacon of hope. Be it the integration of environmental, social, and governance criteria into financial decisions, or remarkable advancements in energy efficiency, each success story is a step towards an industry that contributes more than it consumes. As we prepare for this year’s Awards programme, I urge all pioneering organisations to make their voices heard and encourage as many submissions as possible. The time to celebrate our collective efforts and inspire change is now. The anticipation for the judging process this summer is palpable.”

The Advisory Board of the WSTHA consists of esteemed authorities, academics, and dignitaries dedicated to advancing net positive hospitality. Its members are renowned individuals such as Chris Imbsen from the World Travel & Tourism Council, Susan Hooper representing Chapter Zero, Juha Jarvinen of Virgin Atlantic, Patricio Azcárate Díaz de Losada from the Responsible Tourism Institute, Fran Brasseux from the International Council on Hotel, Restaurant & Institutional Education, Hon. Anthony Mahler of Belize, Prof. Dr. Willy Legrand from IU International University of Applied Sciences Germany, Isabel Novoa from the International Social Tourism Organization, Prof. Graham Miller from Nova School of Business & Economics in Lisbon, and Xenia zu Hohenlohe from The Sustainable Markets Initiative.